Kim Askew

2014 Award Recipient.

In 2012, the State Bar of Texas Section of Litigation awarded Ms. Akew the Luther Soules III  Award for professionalism and outstanding service to the profession. She also was recognized in 2012 by Lawdragon as one of the “500 Leading Lawyers in America” and has been selected as a Texas Super Lawyer since 2002. In 2010, D Magazine named her to its inaugural list of Best Women Lawyers in Dallas in Labor and Employment law, and Texas Lawyer selected her as one of the 25 Greatest Texas Lawyers of the Past Quarter Century.  She has been included in the “Best Lawyers in America” for Commercial Litigation for more than ten years.

Ms. Askew is a frequent author and speaker on discovery, evidentiary, business litigation, and employment law topics. The State Bar of Texas selected Ms. Askew’s presentation on “Texas State and Federal Privileges Update,” at the Advanced Evidence and Discovery Course in 2009 as one of the state’s best CLE presentations of the year. She serves on the boards of local and national civic, charitable and professional organizations.

*For a full list of past honorees, click here

About the Honoree | Kim Askew

Mike Lynn

Lynn Tillotson Pinker & Cox, LLP

Terry Oxford

Susman Godfrey LLP

Jeff Smith

Baptist Foundation of Texas

Brenda Jackson

Retired Oncor

Margaret and Lester Keliher

Dinner Chairs

Vicki and Peter Bartholow

James E. Coleman, Jr. 

Carrington, Coleman, Sloman& Blumenthal, L.L.P.

Vester T. Hughes, Jr.

K&L Gates LLP

Vicki and Peter Bartholow

Gruber Hurst Johansen Hail Shank LLP

Marmer Law Offices LLC

David Radunsky

Jeff Smith

Phyllis and Ronald Steinhart

Helga and Gerardo Weinstein

Table Host



Estes Okon Thorne & Carr PLLC

Haynes and Boone, LLP

Harriet Miers

Carter Scholer Arnett

Hamada & Mockler, PLLC

Charles Schwab

James E Coleman, Jr. and Margaret and Lester Keliher

Vester T. Hughes, Jr.

Brenda Jackson

Brynn Mow in honor of Bob Mow

Joan and Terry Oxford

Polsinelli PC

Carol and Don Glendenning 




Harry Ploss

Kim Askew

2014  Flame  of  Honor  Award  Sponsors

The Flame of Honor (FOH) is presented by SWJC to men and women whose qualities of exceptional moral courage, community commitment, and personal example have enriched our city, state and nation.

The Flame of Honor award dinner serves as the main fundraising event for SWJC.

Flame  of  Honor  Award  Dinner

Southwest Jewish Congress